Run for First Indian Independence Day at Villupuram

On 30th December 1943, Bharat's first portion of land was freed from the clutches of British, as Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose declared Bharat's independence by unfurling the National Flag in Andaman Island.
Forum for Awareness of National Security (FANS) celebrates this historic event every year in Port Blair. From 2017, FANS is celebrating this event in addition in different parts of Bharat. On Sunday, 30.12.2018, at Villupuram in Tamilnadu, a grand Marathon was organised with about 7,500 young boys and girls participated. It was about 3500 last year.
At the police parade grounds near Villuppuram Collectorate, about 7,500 boys and girls started assembling from 5.45 am onwards. 
There were three categories. Youngsters of the age group above 12 years to 15 years and 16 years to 19 years ran a distance of 12 Kms. Children less than 12 years of age ran a distance of 5 Kms. Shri Sardar Farookh Khan, Hon. Administrator of Lakshadweep unfurled the National Flag at 7.00 am. The National Anthem was played.
Swami Yatindrananda Giri of Juna Akhara of Haridwar and the dignitaries released pigeons free to mark the freedom of Bharat declared by Netaji 75 years ago.

H.H. Mahamandaleshwar Swamy Yatindranand Giri of Juna Akhara, Haridwar and Shri Sardar Farookh Khan, Honourable Administrator of Lakshadweep flagged off the Marathon at 7.15 a.m. Shri Raj Kumar Khemka, Patron FANS - TN, Shri Golok Behari Rai, National organising General Secretary, FANS, Shri Era. Meyyappan, National Secretary- FANS, Shri S. Divakar, Shri C.Ve.Babu, President FANS- Tamilnadu, Shri N.Umasankar, General Secretary FANS - Tamilnadu, Shri S.J. Prabhu Shanmugham, FANS Villupuram District President, Shri Durai, FANS Villupram Town President, Shri R.K. Babu, Joint Co-ordinator of the Marathon were present. Shri Padmanabhan - Villupuram District Sports Officer, Shri R.Mohanasundaram - Executive Officer, Sri Ramakrishna Schools, Villupuram had been of immense support in conducting the event. The District Police led by Shri Ravi, Superintendent of Police and Shri Shankar, Dy. Superintendent of Police gave excellent support to the event.

The children completed the 5 Kms. The participants in the seniorcategory completed the event.
The participants were served refreshments at the grounds as and when they completed.
At the meeting at the grounds, Cash Prizes Rs 10,000/= , Rs 7,500/=, Rs.5,000/= were awarded to girls and boys separately to the winners in each of the six categories, thus a total of Rs 1,35,000/= was awarded as cash prizes. Certificates were issued to every one the participants.
H.H. Mahamandaleshwar Swami Yatindranand Giri graciously distributed the prizes and congratulated the winners and all the participants. Momentos were given to all the dignitaries. The members of the team were recognised by presenting a shawl and a Momento each individually by Swamiji. The event concluded with National Anthem.

Post a Comment